Ingenhuett Log Cabin
The 1820s chinked log cabin has a large room with a king pillowtop bed, rockers, a fireplace fitted with pillar candles, and a private porch with seating. The remodeled spa like bathroom features a garden tub. The only structure not original to the property, the pioneer cabin was salvaged from Kentucky and reconstructed behind the Carriage House. The brick floors and thick wood walls combined with the comfortable furnishings make staying in the cabin a unique experience.
Peter Ingenhuett (1833–1923) and his wife Marie, with their sons and other relatives, were influential in the development of Comfort. Peter’s relationship with architect Alfred Giles created some of the High Street landmarks. He first commissioned Giles to design the Hotel in 1880 and then to design his general store in 1890 and the Capitol Saloon in 1891. Peter’s son Paul and his wife Ida Flach Ingenhuett were leaders in the community and owners of the Giles designed home at 417 Eighth Street. Paul followed his father in the mercantile business and then became a founder of the Comfort State Bank and an original trustee of the Comfort Volunteer Fire Department. Ida was a member of the Literary Social Club. The Ingenhuett family operated the general store until it was destroyed by fire in 2006.